Vuoden pohjoismaisen elokuvamusiikkipalkinnon Harpan voitti Edvard Egilsson musiikistaan elokuvaan Smoke Sauna Sisterhood


Vuoden pohjoismaisen elokuvamusiikkipalkinnon Harpan voitti Edvard Egilsson musiikistaan elokuvaan Smoke Sauna Sisterhood

Palkinto jaettiin Berliinissä 18.2.2024. Suomen ehdokkaana oli Pessi Levanto musiikistaan elokuvaan Superposition.

The International jury released a statement about the nominated composers and Eðvarð’s award- winning score:

The score that the jury has chosen as this year’s HARPA recipient, is very special. Special, not only because it is the result of a cooperative process between the composer and the director, but also because it is melting together human voices, rhythmic, yet fleshy sounds. Giving an earthy, earnest and poetic smoke to the film. Read more here about it here.

Producer of ’Smoke Sauna Sisterhood’, Marianne Ostrat:

 […] It is Edvard’s talent of course, but even more importantly his openess and curiosity towards South-Estonian smoke sauna culture, flexibility and readiness to dive into the unknown and the primordial synchronicity with our mindsets and sensibility, that made the soundtrack of Smoke Sauna Sisterhood- of which I am so happy and proud – possible. Heartfelt congratulations to our very dear friend Eddi! Thousand times deserved. Read more about it here.

The Icelandic composer association, STEF, CEO, Guðrún Björk Bjarnadóttir:

It is with tremendous pleasure and pride that I congratulate Edvard Egilsson on winning the Harpa Award 2024 for best score. I find it almost unbelievable that this is the 5th time that Iceland, such a small nation, has won this prestigious award. […] the investment in arts and culture, along with government support for musical education and the growing infrastructure of the music industry, also has some bearing, […]  But having said that, then I think it’s fair to say, that in this case, there’s no doubt that the biggest reason is simply the hard work and talent of Edvard Egilsson, who I think has a great film music career in front of him. Read more about it here.

A score, which is melting together human voices, rhythmic, yet fleshy sounds. Giving an earthy, earnest, and poetic smoke to the film. 
The international HARPA jury 2024 is:

  • Norwegian composer Jørund Fluge Samuelsen, HARPA winner 2023
  • Canadian composer Erica Procunier,
  • German producer and director of SoundTrack Cologne, Michael P. Aust.
  • Project Manager for Industry@Tallinn & Baltic Event, and Music Meets Film Hanna-Greth Peetson.
  • Lee Dongjune, Jecheon International Music and Film Festival in South Korea.
  • Director of European Film Market, Dennis Ruh
  • American international film consultant, Sydney Levine.

The other nominated scores for the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award 2024 were:

DENMARK ’Apolonia, Apolonia’, a documentary directed by Lea Glob, scored by Jonas Struck. Words from the jury: In the Danish documentary, Apolonia Apolonia, covering a span of 13 years, and the development of the young artist Apolonia Sokol, Jonas Struck’s music is as well developing over the years, transcending decades and the structure of the art world – becoming the rhythm of Apolonia’s soul.
FINLAND ’Superposition’, by Karoline Lyngbye, scored by Finnish Pessi Levanto. Words from the jury: We heard Finnish composer Pessi Levanto and his extremely effective, yet suggestive score for the Danish film, Superposition. 
NORWAY Let The River Flow (Ellos eatnu – La elva leve), directed by Ole Giæver, scored by Norwegian Ola Fløttum. Words from the jury: With his almost omnipresent score, Norwegian Ola Fløttum is cleverly balancing the stories told and not told in the Norwegian authentic drama, Let the River Flow.
SWEDEN Thin Blue Line, a series directed by Anders Hazelius & Sanna Lenken, and scored by Swedish Irya Gmeyner & Martin Hederos. Words from the jury: Swedish composers Irya Gmeyner and Martin Hederos are just as effective: With its subtle ethnic profile, the score for the police series Thin Blue Line literally glues the scenes and events together. 
This years award ceremony took place, once again, at Felleshuset at Nordische Botschaften in Berlin,; hosted by 2023 HARPA winner Jørund Fluge Samuelsen (NO) as well as 2022 HARPA winner, Sanna Salmenkallio (FIN).
See more pictures and read more about the weekend here.

NFMD has joined the insta-family and we are so excited for you to see what we’re working with – find us at @nordicfilmmusicdays and hit the follow button to stay tuned.
Facebook/ Instagram/ Website

What is HARPA Nordic Film Music Days & Nordic Film Composers Award?

An annual event during Berlinale – Berlin International Film Festival & All Year-Round online seminars

  • Communicating & presenting the quality of Nordic film and media-music.
  • Strengthening artistic and musical interaction between the Nordic countries and beyond.
  • Creating a platform where the composers can meet, communicate, and cooperate.

Partners in HARPA Nordic Film Music Days 2024

  • Skap (The Swedish Society of Songwriters, Composers & Authors)
  • FST (Swedish Society of Composers)
  • Music Finland
  • Finnish Music Creators FMC
  • STEF (Icelandic Collective Rights Management Society)
  • NOPA (Norwegian Society of Composers and Lyricists)
  • BFM (Danish Organization for Film- and Media Composers)

Collaborators in HARPA Nordic Film Music Days 2024:

  • Sound Track Cologne
  • EFM (European Film Market)
  • Jecheon International Film & Music Festival
  • Industry@Tallinn & Music Meets Film
  • Riga International Film Festival
  • Vilnius Film Festival & Kino Pavasaris Distribution
  • Nordic Music Days & Glasgow Film Festival
  • IMMSANE, The International Media Music and Sound Arts Network in Education
  • Orchestral Tools

With support from:

  • Nordische Botschaften
  • Nordic Film and TV Foundation
  • Botschaft von Estland Berlin
  • Botschaft der Republik Lettland in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
  • Botschaft der Republik Litauen
  • The Carlsberg Group
  • DPA (Danish Publishers Association) & Koda Kultur
  • Danish Music Publishers Association & Koda Kultur
  • Funded by the European Union and the Goethe-Institut: This work was produced with the financial assistance of the European Union. The views expressed herein can in no way be taken to reflect the official opinion of the European Union

Winners of HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award
2024 Berlin | Eðvarð Egilsson (Iceland) | Smoke Sauna Sisterhood
2023 Berlin | Jørund Fluge Samuelsen (Norway) | Alle Hater Johan
2022 Berlin | Sanna Salmenkallio (Finland) | Aalto
2021 online | Flemming Nordkrog (Denmark)| Shine Your Eyes
2020 Berlin | Gaute Storaas (Norway) | Bröllop, begravning & dop
2019 Berlin | Davíð Þór Jónsson and director Benedikt Erlingsson (Iceland)| Woman at war
2018 Berlin| Daníel Bjarnason (Iceland) | Under the Tree
2017 Berlin and Cannes | Honor award | Bent Fabricius-Bjerre (Denmark)
2017 Berlin and Cannes | Sune Martin (Denmark) | Land of Mine
2016 Berlin | Honor award | Johann Johannsson (Iceland)
2016 Berlin | Atli Örvarsson | Rams
2014 Espoo | Matti Bye (Sweden) | Faro
2013 Trondheim |Tuomas Kantelinen (Finland) | Puhdistus
2012 Reykjavik |Fredrik Emilson (Sweden) | Kronjuvelarna
2011 Copenhagen | Gaute Storaas (Norway) | Elias og jakten på havets gull
2010 Gothenburg | Dani Strömbäck (Finland) | Letters to Father Jacob